Departmental Reaccreditation Process

Departmental accreditation is valid for 5 years.

During this time any significant changes within the department, such as the appointment of a new scientist lead or if the department moves to new premises, should be accompanied by immediate notification to the BSE using the departmental accreditation email

Five years after accreditation

After five years, the reaccreditation process primarily consists of a check that the information held at BSE remains accurate. Confirmation will also be sought that any areas of concern highlighted during the accreditation process or anything described as a condition to accreditation being awarded, have been addressed.

A department will be notified by emails sent to both the medical and scientist leads 6 months before the 5 year reaccreditation date. DA website log in details and password will be included in the emails. The leads will be asked to log onto the DA website to check that the information about their department is correct and make a payment of the £500 reaccreditation fee.

During the reaccreditation process the department leads may be emailed by the departmental accreditation team for more information. They may be asked to upload photographs or documents or to provide detailed information in an informal telephone interview.

The result of the application for reaccreditation will be emailed to the department leads.

No changes to the number of accreditations at 5 years

If there are no changes to the number of accreditations sought (transthoracic /TOE/stress/ training/emergency) a site visit will not usually be performed. If essential information cannot be conveyed electronically or by telephone one BSE inspector will visit the department.

Changes to the number of accreditations at 5 years

If department accredited for transthoracic echocardiography chooses to add one or more additional types of accreditation (TOE, stress, training or emergency) the BSE inspection team may decide to make a site visit. No additional amount will be charged above the £500 reaccreditation fee, for any additional areas of accreditation.

Changes to the level of accreditation at 5 years

There are no longer different levels of of accreditation, therefore, all reaccreditations will either be accredited or not accredited (there will not be standard or advanced levels).

Loss of accreditation at 5 years

If a department does not reach the criterion required for transthoracic and training accreditation at 5 years all other accreditations will also expire because transthoracic and training accreditation are a mandatory requirement for accreditation in TOE, stress and emergency.

Certificates at 5 years

A new certificate will be issued to all successfully reaccredited departments reflecting any changes to the types of accreditation which will be dated to expire 10 years from the department's initial accreditation.

Expiry of Accreditation

If an accredited department does not apply for reaccreditation at 5 years or if they no longer meet the transthoracic accreditation requirements their accreditation will expire 5 years from their accreditation date. They will no longer be eligible to display the Departmental Accreditation certificate or use the Departmental Accreditation logo.

Ten years after accreditation

Ten years after initial accreditation we expect there will have been numerous changes both within the department (staff and equipment) and in the practice of echocardiography, therefore a new application is required. This attracts a fee of £500.

The scientist and medical leads will be emailed 6 months before the accreditation expires and advised to make a new application. It is likely to take several weeks to complete the whole process so it's advisable to start an application as soon as possible. Provided the new forms have been submitted and payment received by BSE by the department's 10 year anniversary their accreditation status will be maintained pending the outcome of the process.

A visit will be performed and a full report written as for the initial accreditation.

New certificates will be issued for 5 years.